Our Board Of Directors includes 8 members with diverse experience in various fields including law, banking and management.

The Bank’s Board is led by the Chairman Mr. SBR Shah and consists of four independent Non-Executive Directors, two Non-Executive Directors and two Executive Directors.

The Directors collectively have vast experience arising from their varied backgrounds in different fields including Banking, General Management, Law, Accounting and Investment Analysis, apart from hands on experience in various industries.

  • Mr. S. B. R. Shah


    Mr SBR Shah, is the founder of I&M Bank Ltd, has vast experience in the industry and is well respected in the business community. On 12th December 2002 he wasbestowed the honour of a Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear by the former President of Kenya, Hon. Daniel Arap Moi. He sits on the Board of several companies.

  • Mr. Sarit S. Raja Shah

    Executive Director

    Mr. Sarit S Raja Shah has been the Executive Director of I&M Bank since 1993. He holds a Masters degree in Internal Audit and Management from City University London. He also serves on the boards of several companies including I&M Holdings Limited, subsidiaries and associates such as: I&M Bank (T) LIMITED and GA Insurance Limited.

  • Mr. Sachit Shah


    Mr. Sachit Shah joined the board in July 2015. He holds a Bachelors of Science degree in Banking and Finance from City University London. He is the Executive Director of GA Insurance Limited. He has had the opportunity to work with AMP Asset Management in London and HSBC Bank PLC, London.

  • Mr. Eric Munene Kimani


    Mr Eric M Kimani, Founder of The Palmhouse Foundation, joined the board in 2005. He is a Certified Public Accountant and an advocate of the High Court of Kenya. Mr Kimani has previously worked as the Financial Controller, Williamson Tea Kenya, Managing Director, Kenya Tea Development Agency and most recently Managing Director Sameer Africa. He is also the trustee/board member of several charitable and professional associations.

  • Mr. Mugo Kibati


    Mr Mugo Kibati joined the board in 2008 as a Director. He is the current Chair of the board of directors at M-Kopa Solar and Lake Turkana Wind Power Ltd. Mr Kibati holds Master’s degrees from the prestigious Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and George Washington University in the USA. He has also served assignments at the Kenya Telecommunications Investment Group and Lucent Technologies, USA and most recently as Group CEO at Sanlam Kenya Plc.

  • Mr. Soundararajan


    Mr M Soundrarajan, CEO of Delta Corp East Africa Ltd, joined the board in 2009. He made a name for himself in the banking industry having served in different positions in banks both in Kenya and India. Before joining Delta Corp East Africa, he was the managing Director of CFC Financial Services Ltd and also Managing Director of CFC Bank.  

  • Nyambura Koigi

    Independent Non - Executive Director

    Dr Nyambura Koigi joined the board in October 2015 as a Non-Executive, Independent Director. She holds a Doctorate of Business Administration from the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, a BA and an MBA both from the University of Nairobi. Dr Nyambura is a fellow of both the Institute of Certified Public Secretaries of Kenya and the Kenya Institute of Management. Furthermore, she has extensive training and experience in leadership, project management, product development, ICT and Microfinance. She has worked in various capacities in the financial sector including banking, business development and information communication technology. Prior to joining the board, she was the Managing Director of Postbank from 2005 to 2015.

  • Mr. Kihara Maina


    Mr Kihara Maina, joined I&M Bank as the Chief Executive Officer and Board member in May 2016. He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics from Moi University and an Executive MBA from the University of Chicago – Booth School of Business. Mr Maina, began his banking career in June 1993 at Stanbic Bank Kenya then moved to Barclays Bank Kenya in 1997 where he served extensively over the years ultimately taking up senior leadership positions. Prior to joining I&M Bank, Kihara was the Managing Director of Barclays Bank Tanzania.